Story Posted: 2016-04-20

Foundation raises 4.7M in support of St. Paul’s Hospital

Through the immense generosity and commitment of our donors along with effective stewardship of investments, St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation (SPHF) raised $4,723,268 in support of urgently needed medical equipment, capital improvements, patient comfort care items, staff professional development, and the Healing Arts Program at St. Paul’s Hospital (SPH).

“We would like to thank the community groups, organizations, individuals and volunteers who give so generously to support the needs of our Hospital,” said Foundation Chair John Agioritis. “It is only through your support that we are able to continue providing vital resources to improve the health and care in our community and to the people of this province.”

Details of the $4.6 million in allocations were presented at St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation Annual General Meeting on April 19. Over $2.7 million was allocated to technological advancements in our operating rooms. Other highlights of the year included the purchase and installation of new state-of-the-art equipment for enhanced diagnosis and treatment, including an Advanced Imaging and Biopsy Ultrasound and DI Microwave Thermal Ablation device, as well as the acquisition of a new SPECT-CT which will be installed in the Hospital this year.

Also at the Annual General Meeting, St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation appointed the following officers to their volunteer Board of Directors: John Agioritis (Chair), Chris Boychuk (Vice-Chair), Colleen Cameron-Bergan (Past Chair), Darlene Cooper (Secretary), and Alan Koop (Treasurer). Members of the board include: Bob Kirkpatrick (SPH Board Chair), Denise Frey, Melanie Hilkewich, Dr. Arne Paus-Jenssen, Mercedes Montgomery, Jean Morrison (SPH President and CEO), Dr. Vivian Walker, Neil Weber and new inductee Arlene Jorgenson. The Foundation is very grateful for their service.

St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation has allocated more than $56 million dollars to the Hospital since the Foundation was formed in 1982.


< Back to previous page